Do you know what it feels like when

Do you know what it feels like when I’ve wounded you

When I throw words and leave swords

Do you know what it feels like when I’ve damaged you

Started to break the bridges we built

 

My body goes numb

And everything rushes over me

There aren’t any rivers or tears here

Just rivers of regret

 

I wonder why I was born with such a sharp tongue

Does snake venom run in my veins

Was I born cruel, to be able to hurt the person I think about right as I awake

And the one I pray to dream about in my sleep

 

Then comes the rivers 

That sweep through my body

Like brooms on a spring cleaning day 

I can’t move, and I feel like my heart has been broken

 

Because to hurt you, is to kill me

To hurt you, is to break me

 

And it is the moment after it all, that I am so so so terribly sorry.

Leave a comment